Medesthetics Special

ACNE & ROSACEA 2013

Surgical Aesthetics and Acne & Rosacea are special editions of Medesthetics. To see Surgical Aesthetics, go to http://surgicalaestheticsmagazine.epubxp.com

Issue link: https://medesthetics.epubxp.com/i/139907

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 21 of 23

Ad Index MedEsthetics PUBLISHER/CEO Deborah Carver • dcarver@creativeage.com VICE PRESIDENT/CFO Mindy Rosiejka • mrosiejka@creativeage.com EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Stephanie Yaggy • syaggy@creativeage.com EDITORIAL EXECUTIVE EDITOR/ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER Inga Hansen • ihansen@creativeage.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR • Brandon Lowrey CONTRIBUTING EDITOR • Linda W. Lewis ART CREATIVE DIRECTOR • Dawn Cobalt ART DIRECTOR • Melody Ostil mostil@creativeage.com PHOTO EDITOR • Armando Sanchez PREPRESS MANAGER • Cam Campanaro DESKTOP SPECIALIST • Sophia Freeman WEB/MARKETING MARKETING COORDINATOR • Andrew B. Smith WEB ART DIRECTOR • Ben Bregman WEBMASTER/DESIGNER • Ryan Boydstun CIRCULATION/PRODUCTION CIRCULATION DIRECTOR • Barbara Shepherd PRODUCTION DIRECTOR • Garnet Blair PRODUCTION MANAGER • Madlen Martinez PRODUCTION ASSISTANTS Claudia Marquez, Flora Robinson ADMINISTRATION ACCOUNTING MANAGER • Lourdes R. Nuno ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE MANAGER Viktoriya Milshteyn ACCOUNTING ASSISTANT • Suzie Chavez SPECIAL PROJECTS MANAGER • Denise Maiman ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT • Dario Dicochea ADVERTISING Ellman International, Inc............................................ 9 205.943.0388 ellman.com Glytone/Pierre Fabre Dermo-Cosmetique USA .................................................................Back Cover 800.459.8663 glytone-usa.com Hale Cosmeceuticals ................................................. 7 800.951.7005 halecosmeceuticals.com Intrafusions .............................................................. 15 888.317.3788 intrafusions.com Lumenis .................................................................... 13 877.586.3647 aesthetic.lumenis.com PhytoCeuticals .................................Inside Front Cover 877.474.9862 phyto-c.com Pro+Theraphy MD/Valeant Aesthetics ...................... 5 800.321.4576 protherapymd.com Rhonda Allison.................................. Inside Back Cover 866.313.7546 rhondaallison.com Skin Luma/Young Pharmaceuticals ......................... 11 800.874.9686 skinluma.com Solta Medical/Isolaz................................................... 3 isolaz.com ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER/ADVERTISING DIRECTOR Lisa Fisco • lfisco@creativeage.com ACCOUNT EXECUTIVES Diane Jones • djones@creativeage.com Nazli Santana • nsantana@creativeage.com Questions about your subscription? Contact MedEsthetics, Attn: Subscriptions, PO Box 1072, Skokie, IL 60077-9712; 800.624.4196; medesthetics@halldata.com. Publication Offfiices: MedEsthetics, 7628 Densmore Ave, Van Nuys, CA 91406-2042. For other questions call 818.782.7328 or fax 818.782.7450. The views and opinions printed herein are not to be taken as official expressions of the publishers, unless so stated. The publishers do not warrant, either expressly or by implication, the factual accuracy of the articles herein, nor do they so warrant any views or opinions offered by the authors of said articles. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means, including photocopying, or utilized by any information storage and retrieval system without written permission from MedEsthetics. Copyright 2013 by Creative Age. All rights reserved. Calming Inflammation Continued from page 17 and they decrease toll-like receptors." She notes that although the original tretinoin is quite irritating to skin, synthetic retinoid adapalene is better tolerated by most teen and adult patients. "Adapalene, which is the molecule that's in Differin is also effective but not as irritating [as tretinoin], and then we have advances in formulation and vehicles that are more friendly to the skin." Carrying Through with Homecare Patients with sensitive, inflamed skin must use caution when selecting homecare products. In addition to daily sunscreen, there are a growing variety of natural anti-inflammatory ingredients that can help calm and protect inflamed skin. "Antioxidants are critical to managing inflammation as they help maintain cellular energy and keep the mitochondria performing efficiently," says Rhonda Allison, founder of Rhonda Allison Skin Care (rhondaallison.com). "These include, R-lipoic acid, acetyl carnitine, CoQ10, phenyl-t-butylnitrone and niacinamide along with various forms of vitamin C—L-ascorbic, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate and sodium ascorbyl phosphate." Because l-ascorbic acid is highly acidic and has the potential to cause irritation, Mostafa Omar, PhD, founder of Phytoceuticals (phyto-ceutical.com), buffers his vitamin Cbased products with 1% vitamin E. His company also includes 20 July/August 2013 | ACNE & ROSACEA anti-inflammatory ingredients olive leaf extract and centella asiatica in many of its products, which are offered in solution, gel and cream forms for patients with acne and rosacea. "Cream most of the time stays topical. It doesn't penetrate well," he says. "The gel can penetrate a little bit deeper, so it can heal a little bit of the inflammation. If [the patient] has a severe case, you can also use a solution with the ability to penetrate deeper into the skin." The solutions offer a pH between 2.8 and 3.2 for better penetration. "Then I apply the gel—pH 5.5 or so—which gives a mild action to remove some irritation of the liquid," he says. Dr. Fried notes that for some rosacea patients using a daily suncreen is enough to protect their skin from the sun damage that elicits inflammation. "For other people it's that plus azelaic acid, for other people it's that plus plus plus. Some of the natural interventions—biofeedback, hypnosis, muscle relaxation, yoga, tai chi—all of these decrease inflammation and decrease stress and stress response, and enhance control," he says. "The biggest thing we give people with capricious skin conditions through treatment is an enhanced sense of control over the frequency of their flares, the severity of the flares and the intensity of their flares." z Inga Hansen is the executive editor of MedEsthetics.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Medesthetics Special - ACNE & ROSACEA 2013